17018850120_136fa2a346_oCuba is a small island washed by the Caribbean Sea. With a friendly atmosphere, agitatedby naturalized and with a landscape that can be imagined with a music background do Buena Vista Social Club, you can say it is a journey through time, where the cars are a nostalgic ode, with model years 30 on the streets. This whole scenario could inspire any conservative action, but the experience described below is such a revolutionary act can rekindle the spirit selvaje skateboard.

17018850120_136fa2a346_o

I was running all the time in Havana, specifically in the neighborhood of Old Havana, Prado street. By a fatal blow of fate, the house would be my home during my stay in the country was right in front of the point of meeting skaters nearby. Pure luck. They were long days sharing amazing experiences with the friends I made there and that will be immortalized in the short documentary producer Serra Negra is developing.

It’s always fun to remember what was the first contact with something like the Skate. For me, it was when I saw the film Lords of Dogtown and assití these subversive boys and pertubados, who transformed the skateboard. And with other guys, the Alberty Alvaro and Julian, Cuban was also much interessante. I, Brazilian, and culturally formed na city of Rio de Janeiro, I found the perfect way to break the ice with these children was donate my skate (although a bit old, but fully functional). I thought that this gesture would help to establish a friendly relationship with local skate. I was wrong. My problem was to believe that they would need some courage to open up to me. In the end, my relationship with them was intense friendship in its purest means

17018850120_136fa2a346_o

When I met Julian soon realized that , being the oldest , who is in charge of negotiations with police. I could see in some situations, the authorities do not have a good relationship with the young skaters in town. In the picture below we can see Julian showing the fine of 100 cucs ( just over 4 dollars ) per skate site banned . He told us that once , when he started playing the sport, a police officer took his skateboard , but never desmotivou , much less intimidated.

It is interesting to remember how it was when I donated my skateboard for them. One of the boys had the first reaction to a check on their conditions of skateboarding. Immediately after , they began to divide between them the pieces of skate . A small gesture that shows how things work in practice of the Cuban skate , showing the atmosphere of unity and amistadque sometimes seems untenable in the stage of the sport in others, the extreme competitive developed countries.

And you start skating foi a little hard because as often as not have the necessary things to skate .. and when they ‘re not my brother ‘s skate is the air you need … when you have no table , has not sapato not You know what to do .. tem to invent , sell cualquer thing you have to sell sell, for a table or sapato because it is bad ficar without patinar..¨ (Speaking of young Alberty )

17209364518_6cc4ecc8aa_o

This was the testimony of the young Alberty, 15, talented skateboarding. The boy, very shy at first, simply skate boarding let go and show aggression, talent and a lot of art to skate. I learned from them that some things are more important than others. For them, it is much more important the sport for fun than anything else. That feeling lingers in my head in perfect antagonism with mine, still short but intense experience with skateboarding. What I see most skaters are dreaming of being sponsored without even having fun with skateboarding.

At this point I had thought of text listing the reasons Cuba skaters have to complain, for example, the fact that there is no trade skate and skate parties in the country. I could say I only have a skate park, which is in disrepair, with rusty and dangerous pieces. But I prefer to talk about the initiative of two skaters, American and Cuban Che Rene Pando, who founded the project friend Skate Cuba, which since 2009 continues hacendo caridade events, collecting pieces not used skid in the US . and leading to Cuba in order to support the Cuban skating scene.

17204431262_054a0f09f5_o

I observed closely the social project that I sometimes shocked to see the reaction of the Cuban skaters receiving quality equipment . The social project that began with the union of an American and a Cuban now involves several countries around the world and second René Friend Skate Cuba follows a growth of supporters who have qualitatively improved conditions for practicing skate in Cuba . Interestingly , it consists of a completely voluntary basis and no financial return action

17204431262_054a0f09f5_o

Cuban imagine their future without quite sure what direction the government, but if children are the future of the nation, Cuba is well served by young people willing and persevering. Experience in Cuba gave me a gift that no money in the world can buy : look at people and see that skateboarding in its essence is alive , and that his pure revolutionary spirit remains intact , at least in Cuba.

 

16585909303_d22fe954fc_o

17180213836_1e688cffb7_o

17180317366_be5e21b73c_o

17189479437_116932dd45_o17204512902_6685752295_o17204606652_0d1e9af2b8_o17396574875_2e043977b1_o

